Weekly Life List Update: 56 to 65

Well, I am back home in Santa Cruz, where we were greeted with gale force winds and pretty constant rain. Therefore, I haven’t really been able to get out and do any bird watching this week. Fortunately, our last few days in Alabama were very productive, and I was able to add another ten birds to the life list, including two nuthatch species, and two more woodpecker species. The nuthatches were especially satisfying, as I failed to see one when we were New Hampshire this October, despite several sightings by my father.

56. Carolina Chickadee

Carolina Chickadee

The Carolina Chickadee is my fourth Chickadee species. It is hard to distinguish it from the Black-Capped Chickadees I grew up with in New England, but as I saw it in Alabama, I can be sure of the ID.

57. House Finch

House Finch

It is very difficult to distinguish House Finches from Purple Finches and Cassin’s Finches. I found some very useful information here.

58. Downey Woodpecker

Unfortunately the Downey Woodpeckers jumped off the suet before I could get my camera around. I spent the next hour with one eye on the window, but they never came back.

59. Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe at Aldridge Botanical Gardens, and my third Phoebe species.

60. Belted Kingfisher

I Saw the Belted Kingfisher several times at the lake by the Hoover, AL public library, sadly I never got a shot off with the camera.

61. Brown Headed Nuthatch

Brown Headed Nuthatch

The Brown-Headed Nuthatch was much more common in my in-laws neighborhood than the White-Breasted Nuthatch.

62. Cedar Waxwing

Cedar Waxwing

We came upon a whole flock of Cedar Waxwings in Hoover, Alabama.

63. Pine Warbler

Juvenile Pine Warbler

This juvenile pine warbler doesn’t have the bright yellow head and neck of the adult.

64. Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker

Yellow-Belleid Sapsucker

The front of my in-laws house is full of woodpeckers, these Yellow-Bellied Sapsuckers were in the trees outside the front window.

65. White-Breasted Nuthatch

White Breasted Nuthatch

The White-Breasted Nuthatches seemed to prefer lower branches and the trunks of trees, while their brown headed cousins perched much higher.

One thought on “Weekly Life List Update: 56 to 65

  1. Your photograph is fabulous. The composition of the picture and the depth of the image is as interesting as the lovely birds.

Leave a Reply

